The historic gem of Little Akaloa is a church hidden away among old trees, commanding a fine view down the bay. The present St Luke's replaced an earlier wooden church and was completed in November 1906. It has an "old world" English-looking exterior, with walls of pebble dash on concrete, a slate roof and a small well-proportioned bell tower.
The surprise is the interior, which is embellished with carvings of predominantly Maori motifs, many delicately executed on white stone. The rafters are decorated with Maori patterns and support an imitation raupo rush ceiling. The windows have stylised Maori designs in coloured glass.
The church was built (and partly paid for) by a local resident, J.H. Menzies, who was "an amateur carver of the very highest order". It is one of the country's early examples of the incorporation of Maori decorative motifs in a European building.
The cemetery lies in the grounds of the church with views of the bay.