St. Bridget's Church is in West Cumbria between the the villages of Parton and Lowca, just north of Whitehaven, off the A595.
It is a dramatic location, on the site of a Roman Fort, overlooking the Solway Firth with stunning views of the Scottish coast and Isle of Man. We are on the edge of the Lake District near the towns of Cockermouth, Workington, Whitehaven and Egremont.
The former Roman camp was known as Gabrosentum, and counts William Wordsworth’s brother John among its past clergy.The church dates from 1822, but there is evidence of a much earlier place of worship being here as far back as the 13th century, and an ancient chancel arch still stands in the churchyard as testament.
In these grounds lay the remains of the notable Fletcher family, former Lords of the Manor of Moresby where tombs are “grey with the blasts that for ages have whistled over this storm swept home of the dead.”
- taken from https://www.stbridgetsmoresby.com/our-story-1